Mark A. Greene Award for First-Time Meeting Attendees


To provide financial assistance for travel and conference expenses to individuals who have not previously attended a MAC meeting.

The award is named for Mark A. Greene (1958-2017), past president of the Society of American Archivists and the Midwest Archives Conference, and mentor to many. He was the director of the American Heritage Center at the University of Wyoming from 2002 until 2015. Prior, he was archivist at Carleton College, curator of manuscripts at the Minnesota Historical Society, and head of Research Center Programs at the Henry Ford. His contributions to the archival profession, including influential literature, are significant and enduring.


One scholarship of up to $500 or two scholarships of up to $250.


In order to be eligible for the scholarship an applicant must be attending their first MAC meeting. It is not necessary to be a MAC member, or to reside in the thirteen state MAC region.


Applications are due by February 19, 2024 and must include the following documents:

  • Completed Application Form
  • Statement of intent, an essay of no more than 500 words briefly describing the importance of this opportunity for your professional development and summarizing the financial requirements of your attendance.
  • One letter of support.

Award Requirement

Award winner will write an essay paragraph for The MAC Newsletter on their experiences at the meeting and its importance to their professional development or education.

Return completed application and related materials (electronic submission strongly encouraged) to:

Barbara Floyd
Professor Emerita of Library Administration
The University of Toledo
2358 Middlesex Drive
Toledo, OH  43606
[email protected]