MAC Presidents' Award


The MAC Presidents' Award was established in 1986 as a means for MAC to recognize significant contributions to the archival profession by individuals, institutions, and organizations not directly involved in archival work but knowledgeable about its purpose and value. Recipients are chosen by a committee comprising the three most recent past presidents of MAC from nominations submitted by committees in each of the 13 states in the MAC region. At the state level, nominations may be made by contacting the state chair directly, or through solicitation of nominations by the chair or members of the state committee. Each state committee may put forward only one nomination per year. As many as three awards may be presented each year. Recipients are invited to attend the members' meeting held at MAC's annual meeting in the spring to receive their certificates.

Presidents' Award Guidelines

The Presidents' Award committee is also responsible for collecting nominations and passing recommendations to Council for the MAC Distinguished Service Award, which is presented at the Awards Luncheon at the spring meeting.

Download the nomination form to nominate an individual for the Presidents' Award. Send nomination forms to your state chair.

Ashley Howdeshell, Loyola University Chicago

Steve Towne, Indiana University-Purdue University, Indianapolis

Laura Sullivan, Iowa State University

Ashley Todd-Diaz, Emporia State University

Nancy DeMarcus, University of Kentucky

Meghan M. Courtney, Wayne State University

Meagan Kellom, Minnesota Historical Society

Erin Norris, SSM Health

Tom Mooney, Nebraska State Historical Society

Shane Molander, State Archives

George Bain, Ohio University

Elizabeth Thrond, Augustana College

Paul Beck, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse

For more information, please contact:

Tanya Zanish-Belcher
Director, Special Collections & University Archivist
Wake Forest University

Previous Winners of the MAC Presidents' Award

2015 No Award
2014 Jack Pitzer, National FFA Organization
  John M. Preis, YMCA Retirement Fund
2013 Landsat Science Team
Prairie Public Broadcasting, Radio Division
National History Day
2011 Hubbard Broadcasting, Inc. of Minneapolis/St. Paul
2009 Nancy Kraft, University of Iowa Libraries
  Margaret Clark Morgan Foundation
  Wisconsin Society for Jewish Learning
  Wisconsin Small Jewish Communities History Project
2008 Ramona (Moni) Hourt, Maria Sandoz High Plains Heritage Center
  Dr. James C. Klotter, State Historian, Commonwealth of Kentucky
  Grant Price, Archives of Iowa Broadcasting
2007 Ada Woodson Adams, President, Multicultural Genealogical Center
2006 Studs Terkel, Author and Distinguished Scholar-in-Residence, Chicago Historical Society
  Fred DeLap, Edgar County (Illinois) Genealogical Society
2005 Ralph DuPae, Steamboat Photograph Collection, University of Wisconsin-LaCrosse, Department of Special Collections
2004 No recipient
2003 National Satellite Land Remote Sensing Data Archive Advisory Committee
2002 Prof. Clarke Chambers, Social Welfare History Archives
  Katherine Lederer, Ozarks African-American History Collection
2001 Rev. Lowell G. Almen, Evangelical Church of America
  Robert L. Payton, Philanthropic Studies Collection
2000 Prof. Emeritus John J. Baughman, Indiana
  Kermit B. Karns for his role in indexing N.D. Germans records
  Neal W. Moore, Ozarks Labor History Society
1999 U.S. Congressman Sidney Yates, Illinois
  Dr. Elton J. Bruins, Jt. Archives of Holland
1998 Sheldon F. Reese Foundation and Margaret Reese
  Friends of the Center Alliance Ltd. (FOCAL)
1997 3M Corporation
1996 Stewart S. Howe Foundation, Illinois
  Richard L. D. Morse, Consumer Movement Archives
1995 Abraham Lincoln Association
  Brooks McCormick, Chief CEO (retired), Navistar International Transportation Company
1994 Louise Noun and Mary Louise Smith, Iowa Women's Archives founders
1993 Gerry Ray, Helped establish the only Kansas county archives
1992 The United Automobile, Aerospace, and Agricultural Workers of America
  Minnesota State Senator Allan H. Spear and Representative Steve Trimble, Minnesota
  Adolf E. and Rebecca B. Schroeder
1991 Curt Teich Foundation
  Cleveland Foundation
1990 Shirley Herd and Virtea Downey, Indianapolis teachers
1989 Joseph Cardinal Bernardin, Archbishop of the Archdiocese of Chicago
  Minnesota Future Resources Commission
  Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railway and Santa Fe Southern Pacific Foundation
1988 U.S. Senator Thomas Eagleton, Missouri
  Iowa Federation of Labor
powered by MemberClicks